BETTY DISERO moved to Niagara-on-the-Lake nearly 10 years ago.  It was the beauty, charm, and diversity of the town that drew her here. Niagara-on-the-Lake is a special place with a unique spirit that offers a range of lifestyles and experiences for both residents and visitors.  Betty has learned since moving to Niagara-on-the-Lake that people truly care about the town and are passionate about safeguarding its uniqueness.

In 2014 the people of Niagara-on-the-Lake elected her as Town Councillor.  In addition to leading many important initiatives, she has the highest attendance record at Town Council meetings, again illustrating her deep interest and commitment.  Betty has worked hard to take part in all aspects of the Town, attending many events, functions, and meetings to celebrate not only achievements but also to work side by side with residents to ensure that Niagara-on-the-Lake remains the best place to live and work. Betty knows that planning and leading for the future must include a vision that unites all the people of Niagara-on-the-Lake.


Now, Betty is READY TO LEAD as Lord Mayor
to contribute her proven leadership and deep
experience to guide Niagara-on-the-Lake
now and into the future.



Proven Leadership and Experience as a NOTL Town

Councillor and 18 Years as Toronto Councillor

“With deep experience comes deep wisdom.”

Proven Leadership and Experience as a NOTL Town Councillor

• Town Councillor: Active member of NOTL Town Council (2014 – 2018) including the highest attendance record for Council meetings

• Chair, Communities in Bloom and member of St David’s CIB Subcommittee

• Co-Chair with Dr. Richard Merritt, UNESCO Committee

• Co-Chair with John Hawley, Voices of Freedom Park Committee

• Council Representative for the Chamber of Commerce, the Niagara Pumphouse, Niagara Region Culture Committee, RiverBrink Art Museum

• Initiated important Community Discussion Groups on the Urban Tree Bylaw, Hospice and Palliative Needs, Future Business Development


As a NOTL Town Councillor (continued)

• Lifetime Member Niagara Historical Society

• Honorary Member Friends of Fort George

• Member, Strategic Plan – Community Engagement

• Member, Council Code of Conduct Bylaw

• Member, Urban Design Committee

• Member, Canada 150, New Year’s Eve Committee

• Member of NOTL Rotary – Rotary Local Community Grant Committee, Co-chair 2015 Canada Day at Simcoe Park, Canada Day Cake Parade Marshall, Member Tulips for Trees Campaign

• Member Newark Neighbours

• Volunteer, Shaw Guild Hosting Group, Museum Gardening Group, Virgil Stampede Nickel Sale

Proven Leadership and Experience as a Toronto Councillor

• 18 years as a Toronto City Councillor

• Trustee Toronto District School Board for 3 years

• Chair of the Transit Commission, Chair Public Works, Chair Waste Diversion Task Force, Chair Economic Development, Chair Harbour Commission

• Key member of following – many health and hospital boards, Toronto International Film Festival, Arts Council, Hockey Hall of Fame